The Pikes Peak Arts Council is a non-profit organization founded in 1968 to honor, connect, and enrich local artists, working to ensure that artists are thriving in, and essential to, the Pikes Peak Region.

Become a member today!

14th Annual PPAC Awards for Excellence in the Arts

- October 15, 2014 -

The Pikes Peak Arts Council was honored to present the 2013-2014 PPAC Awards for Excellence in the Arts! Be sure to congratulate the nominees you know, and take the time to explore the work of those you don't.

2014 PPAC Award Photos

A special thanks to Jeff Cloutier Photography and Rick Escalante Photography for providing photos of the event.

<< All album photos 13/20 photos

2014 Awards Nominees and Winners                                                    (winners are denoted with an asterisk)

 Classical Music: Large Group Performance
*"Lakmé" presented by Opera Theatre of the Rockies
Martile Rowland/Founder, Artistic Director

"Don Jenkins Farewell Concert" presented by Colorado Springs Philharmonic

"Alpine Symphony" presented by Colorado Springs Philharmonic
Nathan Newbrough/President
Josep Caballe Domenech/Music Director

 Classical Music: Small Group Performance

"Ode to Joy" presented by Chamber Orchestra of the Springs
Thomas Wilson/Music Director

*"Transfigured Night" presented by Veronika String Quartet
Veronika Afanassieva, Karine Garebova, Katya Dobrotvorskaia, and Scott Kluksdahl

"Vikings of the Sunrise" presented by Bowed Piano Ensemble
Stephen Scott/Founder, Music Department/Colorado College
 Classical Music: Solo/Duo Performance

Angelina Gadeliya's Piano Recital

*"Bon Appetit" presented by Victoria Hansen and Susan Grace

Dale Miller Guitar Recital
 Dance: Choreography Recognizing Collaboration

*The Ormao Dance Company and UCCS Peak FreQuency Creative Arts Collective
"Resistance and Rebellion: Remember the Past to Carve the Future" performance at GOCA 1420 as part of the multidisciplinary exhibit, "PROTEST!"

Ballet Society (Patty Hoffman), Colorado Springs Youth Symphony (Debi Krause-Reinsch), Colorado Springs Children's Chorale (Marcia Hendricks)
 Dance: Innovation in Production

Opera Theatre of the Rockies/Martile Rowland- Artistic Director, Zetta Alderman- Choreographer
For promoting dance as an integral part of opera in "The King and I"

6 for 12 Productions/Ila Conoley Paladino, Christian Medovich, Jessica Russ Medovich and Tiffany Tinsely Weeks
"Trials and Tribulations of an A-Hole"

*Opera Theatre of the Rockies/Martile Rowland- Artistic Director, Indian Dance Company- Choreography
For promoting dance as an integral part of opera in "Lakmé"
 Dance: Programming

*Green Box Arts Festival/Christian Keesee
Keigwin + Company and American Ballet Theater Studio Co.

Colorado College/Anusha Kedhar
"Evening of Contemporary Indian Dance" at Norberg Studio Theatre, Edith Kinney Gaylord Cornerstone Arts Center 
 Film: Outstanding Student Filmmaking

"Rabbit Bones" by Richard Corso

*"The Summit" by Kai Dickson and Gunnar Renjard

"After War" by Bailey Francisco

"One in Six" by Destiny Rinder
 Poetry: Page Poetry

Robin Izer

*Jane Morton

Autumn Hall
 Poetry: Poetry Promotion/Programming

*Luanne Ducet

David Reynolds
Athenaea Poetry Contest 
 Poetry: Performance Poetry

Ashley Crockett

Phil Ginsburg

*Colorado Springs National Poetry Team/Mallary McHenry, Susan Peiffer, Andrew Ziegler, Chris Walonski, John Parker and Jermard Beasley 
 Popular Music: Solo Artist 

Stoney Bertz

*Daniel James Eaton

Miette Hope

Stephen Edwards
 Popular Music: Group/Duo

*Knight in Colors/Ben Scott

We Are Not a Glum Lot/Sam Erickson

Roma Ransom/Gordon Lewis and Grace Easley

Briffaut/Daniel James Eaton, Grant Sabin, Alex Koshak and Sam Erickson
 Popular Music: Promotion and Advocacy

Lenny Mazel
Pikes Peak Jazz & Swing Society

*Bryan Ostrow
What's Left Festival & Zine 
 Theater: Excellence in Technical Achievement

"Desdemona" (SET/Springs Ensemble Theatre)
Set Design: June Scott Barfield

*"Wizard of Oz" (Fine Arts Center)
Set Design: Christopher Sheley
Lighting Design: Holly Anne Rawls

"Woyzeck" (TheatreWorks)
Set Design: Roy Ballard 
 Theater: Excellence in Individual Performance by an Actress

Ashley Crockett as Clara
Craft Production Resource production of "St. Clara of Corona"

*Sue Bachman as Linda Loman
TheatreWorks production of "Death of a Salesman"

Eryn Carman as Smeraldina
TheatreWorks production of "The Servant of Two Masters"
 Theater: Excellence in Individual Performance by an Actor

*Michael Lee as Silvio
TheatreWorks production of "The Servant of Two Masters"

Sammie Joe Kinnett as Truffaldino
TheatreWorks production of "The Servant of Two Masters" 
 Theater: Group Performance (Production)  

"It's a Wonderful Life"

"The Servant of Two Masters"

"Venus in Fur"
 Visual Art: Artist of the Year

Lindsay Hand
"Remembering the Ludlow Massacre" exhibition at the Colorado Springs Pioneers Museum

*Richard Pankratz
"70th Birthday Retrospective" at Tri-Lakes Center for the Arts

Gary Weston
"Lab Creations Exhibition" at Tri-Lakes Center for the Arts 
 Visual Art: Excellence in Curatorship

Jessica Hunter Larsen
"Rhythm Nations: Transnational Hip Hop in the Street, in the Gallery, and on the Stage" at the Colorado College IDEA Space

Laura BenAmots
"Industrial Gods & Monsters" at the Pikes Peak Community College Downtown Studio Gallery

*Joy Armstrong
"Pamela Joseph's Sideshow of the Absurd" at the Colorado Springs Fine Arts Center
 Visual Art: C.I.A. (Creative, Intriguing, Astonishing)

Tara Thomas/Colorado Springs Fine Arts Center
Karen Hilborn/AspenPointe Health Services
"From Ashes to Memories" at LaForet Conference and Retreat Center

Christian Keesee/Green Box Arts Festival
Festival included Tomas Saraceno's interactive sculpture "Cloud City"

*Joy Armstrong/Fine Arts Center
For the exhibit "Pamela Joesph's Sideshow of the Absurd"

 Visual Art: Art Champion of the Year

*Dr. Michael Maddox
Executive Director of the Tri-Lakes Center for the Arts

(Winners are denoted with an asterisk)

2014 Special Category Award Winners


Linda Nicholos 

Six Women Playwriting Festival


        Martile Rowland          Opera Theatre of the Rockies


            Bailey Francisco               Student Filmmaker 

2014 Awards Jurors

The PPAC Awards would not be possible without the dedicated year round work of our jury members. We send a very special thank you to the 2013- 2014 Awards Jurors. If you are interested in becoming a PPAC Juror, contact Nora Hardin at

Nasit Ari

Mark Arnest

Lauren Arnest

Martha Booth

Ron Brasch

Chuck Cabell

Beth Carlson

Michael Cellan

Brian Elyo

Sharon Friedman

Ralph Giordano

Sue Hammond

Nora Hardin

Jamey Hastings

Austin Lovelace

Abe Minzer

Tracy Mobley-Martinez

Jane Rigler

Pete Schuermann

Peggy Shivers

Mary Jane Sullivan

Robert Tiffany

Rhonda Van Pelt

David Watts

Jim Wood

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software