Arts Business Education Consortium

The ABE Consortium promotes the growth of cultural arts in education in the Pikes Peak Area Schools (15 districts). The Consortium brings awareness of cultural arts programs in the schools to business executives, school administrators, teachers, and parents. The ABE Consortium presents special recognition awards given at an annual luncheon for innovative arts education programs, excellence in teaching and business support of arts education. The Arts Council also presents artists awards and the Chamber of Commerce gives business and corporate awards for support of the arts. This luncheon brings artists, educators and business leaders together to raise awareness and encourage expansion of Arts Education. Recognizing business involvement in Arts Education at the annual ABE luncheon has resulted in increased interest and participation in school arts and cultural programs.

Each year, the Pikes Peak Arts Council gives Arts Business Education Awards to recognize innovative approaches in arts education in the Pikes Peak region. The Pikes Peak Arts Council is proud to assist in recognizing artists, educators, and business leaders within our community who contribute significantly to arts education. 

To make a nomination for the 2017 ABE Awards, please fill out the online form hereYou can also download the nomination form and send it via mail or email here.

This year's program will take place Thursday, April 27, 2017

at the Antlers Hilton

from 11:30 a.m. - 1:30 p.m.

Visit this link to reserve your seat today!

ABE CONSORTIUM AWARDS: Pikes Peak Arts Council


Youth Recognition in Arts Education: Sue Spengler and Xanthe Alexis, The Little School on Vermijo Music Program

Arts Opportunities in Education: Laura BenAmonts, Pikes Peak Community College Downtown Studio Art Gallery and Abby Kreuser, Kreuser Gallery for the PPCC Awards Show

Arts Advocate: Betsy McClenahan


Arts Opportunities Award:  The Manitou Art Center, Michael Howell and Amber Wyatt for Wunderkind, 2015

Arts Advocacy Award:  Aikta Marcoulier, Exec Director of Small Business Development Center

Youth Recognition Award:  Kim Costello, Academy Art & Frame Co.


Arts Opportunities Award:  Colorado Springs Youth Symphony Association

Youth Recognition Award:  Jay Patel and Sourabh Basak

Arts Advocacy Award:  Beth Carlson


Arts Leadership Award:  Donald T. Robinson

Arts Opportunities Award:  Ballet Folklorico de la Raza

Youth Recognition Award:  El Cinco de Mayo, Inc

Arts and Culture Advocate Award:  Senga Nengudi


Arts Leadership Award:  Victor and Barbara Tise

Arts Opportunities Award:  Concrete Couch/Steve Wood

Youth Recognition Award:  Colorado Springs City Council

Arts Advocacy Award:  The Warehouse Restaurant/Lawrence “Chip” Johnson


Arts Opportunities: Bemis School of Art

Youth Recognition: Ila Conoley

Arts Advocacy: John and Cindy Hooton

Arts Leadership: Linda Weiss

Youth Recognition: Posy Knight


Support of the Arts: Aventa Credit Union

Arts Opportunities: Club of Arts

Youth Recognition: The Laramie Project/Wasson High School

Arts Leadership: Marcia Hendricks


It's About Time: David Ball

In the Trenches: Greg Jamieson

Above and Beyond: Mary-K Burnett

Force for the Arts: Peggy Shivers, Shivers Fund

Force for the Arts: Susan Edmondson

© Pikes Peak Arts Council
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software